Bristol Tennessee City Schools Foundation

The Bristol Tennessee City Schools Foundation was formed in 1994 as a governing body to administer funds and programs to supplement educational offerings for the Bristol community. Bylaws were adopted and the organization sanctioned under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 and other appropriate laws. The foundation is composed of a governing board of directors with an executive committee of officers elected by the board consisting of president, vice-president, secretary, and treasurer. The board is self-sustaining through member and community recommendations of individuals who commit and work toward improving education for the students in Bristol Tennessee City Schools.

Board of Directors

The Foundation Board of Directors is comprised of the following business, education, and community leaders and school system representatives: Donna Felty (President), Ronan King (Vice-President), Kathy Hickie (Secretary), Danny Dunn (Treasurer), Jim Arnold, Dr. Mike Browder, Jim Butcher, Donna Camper, Jan Detrick, Dr. Steve Dixon, Margaret Feierabend, Kathy Fields, Anita Fink, Dr. John Gaines, Dr. Kathy Hickie, Tina Hogue, Debbie McMillin, Pam Ownby, Pereda Paty, Ben Rutherford, and Beth Webb. Ex officio members include Director of Schools Gary Lilly, School Board Chair David Welch, and Business Office Supervisor Becky Adams.

Goals and Purposes

The Foundation goals and purposes are shared with school staff who make their needs known by submitting project funding requests to the board of directors. Direct funding is often requested; however, a long-term request is generally done through requesting that the Foundation be a source of "channeling" funds so sponsors can have the benefit of tax-deductible contributions while supporting worthwhile school projects. Contributions not designated to a particular project are placed in the general fund to support specific funding requests.


Scholarships ranging from $500 to $2,500 have been created and are currently sponsored by the Foundation. Each of these scholarships is awarded to a Tennessee High School graduating senior each spring:

The Angie Adams Estes Memorial Scholarship was created several years ago to honor the memory of Tennessee High School graduate Angie Adams Estes.

The Hart Sisters Nursing Scholarship is an annual $2,500 nursing scholarship awarded to one recipient and is provided by Tennessee High School graduate Mrs. Jewel Hart Coombe. Her sister, Mrs. Margaret Hart Riesenberg, was also a Tennessee High School graduate.


The Bristol Tennessee City Schools Foundation is registered as a 501(c)(3) organization. Donations are tax deductible and welcomed in any amount to benefit students and teachers of Bristol Tennessee City Schools. To make a contribution to the Bristol Tennessee City Schools Foundation, please send a check or money order to:

Bristol Tennessee City Schools Foundation
615 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
Bristol, TN 37620

The Bristol Tennessee City School System does not discriminate on the basis of race, religion, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age.